PandaPics

By pandammonium

Rinsing

The purple cheesecake was not great.

The base was taken from a recipe book: it’s blitzed-up dates and pecan nuts. The recipe said to use medjool dates, but I favour deglet nour dates. I pressed the mix into the base of a loose-bottomed tin and put it in the freezer.

The recipe used cashew nuts for the top, but I had silken tofu, so I ignored most of the rest of the recipe. I blitzed the tofu with frozen cherries, a little vanilla paste and some icing sugar. It fit just nicely in the tin, and went back in the freezer. This afternoon, I put it in the fridge to defrost a bit, then i took it out and put it on the side while we ate.

I removed it from the tin and watched the edges bulge as they met the plate, still on its paper-lined metal base. Ice crystals smashed as I cut into it, but it wasn’t all frozen. The middle held its shape.

I could taste a hint of cherry, possibly because I knew there were cherries in it.

We have another block of silken tofu. If there’s a next time, I might look for – and follow – an actual recipe.

The photo shows water from the tap landing on a purple plate.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.