Week 12 - Day 3 - Pond Life

Today I spent most of the morning, training a colleague to process pensions from scratch. An easy job that I have done many times over the last 30 years....but never when the person isn't sitting next to me, but instead on a screen, via 'Teams'. It threw up all kinds of different challenges to those you would normally encounter. Luckily for me, the person I was training had a good understanding and plenty of pensions knowledge, and was able to ask all the right questions. It still took us a long while to get anywhere, but we did, and it was a successful 'first'.

At lunchtime Henry took the plunge and paid for his car insurance, ready to start on his 18th birthday on 28th June. £1088. He has been saving hard from his very meagre apprentice wage. I guess it is what they need to do if they want to be mobile at a young age these days. He will be starting back at work soon, so will need to be mobile. But I know I will worry about him out on his own, for a good few weeks. 

After lunch I managed to catch up with some pension processing of my own, and generally get things up to date ready for my day off tomorrow.

Finished at 5.15 and watched a bit of the coronavirus update. To be honest, I don't really understand what they are doing now. Everything seems to be opening from next week, so I presume they want us out shopping, visiting zoos, and generally getting back to work. But still with social distancing, so children can't go to school, and my office certainly isn't letting us back. Over 5000 new cases identified from testing, so the virus is very much still out there. I find working from home full time quite tiring, but I am very grateful that my employer is putting us first.

Had a chat with mum this evening and will be heading to Hoddesdon tomorrow for the day. There are some lighting jobs to sort out, so it will just be me and Henry. 

My tadpoles are getting their back legs. I wish I had got a photo at lunchtime when they were all hanging around the edge of the pond, but this evening they were down in the murky depths (well, it isn't deep, but you know, in the brown sludgy bit). I tried to stir them up a bit, and eventually one moved to a point where I could get a view. This was my best shot!

Sewing Bee tonight!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.