JoolzFawcett

By JoolzF

The Alter

I set off on my lunchtime walk in Lickey Woods armed with a booklet we recently bought: "Lickey Hills Country Park - Great Walks". One of the walks is called The Sculpture Trail.

I have blipped a couple of the sculptures before, on 6th November and 15th June, I was surprised to learn from the booklet that there are three more sculptures, since I had never noticed any others.

It turns out that I have often seen two of the others. It's just that they are so unremarkable I hadn't realised that they are sculptures. Here's one of them. I had always thought that it is a rather badly designed bench. In fact it is The Alter. The blurb in the booklet describes it as based on a woodland picnic table and says "its original function removed, hence the title, it takes on more poetic and magical properties". Hmm.

If you are underwhelmed with this sculpture, wait until I blip the next one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.