MarkHyson

By MarkHyson

Super Trouper

I'm a part time carer for a friend (Kim) who has a terminal brain tumour. Today I ran her up to London to see a play called 'Privates on Parade'. The photo is of Chris, Kim's son who is currently operating the follow spot in the Noël Coward Theatre for the play. I always tease him about the ABBA song 'Super Trouper' which is about a follow spot light!


"Tonight the
Super Trouper lights are gonna find me
Shinin' like the sunn (Su-p-per Trou-p-per)
Smilin', havin' fun (Su-p-per Trou-p-per)
Feeling like a number one

Tonight the
Super Trouper beams are gonna blind me
But I won't feel blue (Su-p-per Trou-p-per)
Like I always do (Su-p-per Trou-p-per)
'Cause somewhere in the crowd there's you"

Abba: best selling single of 1980

"Super Trouper is a registered trademark owned by Strong Entertainment Lighting, for their brand of followspots, i.e., directional spotlights used to follow a performer on stage." Source: Wikipedia

The play was a laugh a minute, included lots of swearing and full frontal male nudity. The lead - Simon Russell Beale "is monumentally fabulous" (Time Out). The supporting cast are equally excellent which includes the policeman from 'Doc Martin'. It runs for another month, and some tickets are available for £10.00.... no under 15s are allowed!

Thank you for the comments for yeaterdays blip, very much appreciated.

Sorry about the noise in this pic, it was pretty dark in there (even though this is during the interval) and I thought it wise not to use a flash!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.