rambling

This is my Shadow Dabbler-style homage shot (that is, the going-on-a-ride-and-then-leaning-bike-against-something shot).

Well, had a distinctly Fort Worth kind of day. Woke up and headed up to the Saturday Market started by our friends. While there, we ran into about ten different people we knew. Chatted with everyone, caught up with people's lives, picked up some cupcake samples from Robbie for our wedding next month. I say this is distinctly Fort Worth because this community is so close knit that I knew we were going to see at least someone up there we knew, let alone that many folks. Not in Denver, not in Austin has this happened, at least not on this scale. Obviously, I miss those places dearly but this guarantee of running into good people is a nice feeling to expect when you head out the door.

We came home, and I read through a significant portion of student drafts, rewarding myself with a Java Stout, then moved on to re-reading Marquez's great One Hundred Years of Solitude for my Tuesday night class--still have a ways to go on that one and I have forgotten quite a bit of the story since the last time I'd read this classic novel.

Headed out for a ride after the school business. An incredibly beautiful day out--unprecedented, really. Was a bit upset this morning, perhaps, at our total lack of winter weather lately, then again, walking about the Market, then out on the bike, in shorts, listening to my iPod, seeing the families in the park, kind of made me realize pretty quickly how special and perfect this weather really is at the moment. Finally, as I was about to pull in back to the apartment from my ride, I see two dudes on horseback out in front of the high-end cigar store. You see, the Stock Show is still in town (something like for its 117th year now they come for a few weeks in Jan./Feb.), and these guys were in from some little place I'd never heard of, and out and about for a "pub crawl" (their words), just "tryin' to save some gas" (again, their words). I looked down to my bike and smiled: "me too, man, me too." Back upstairs, sweaty and content. Feeling productive and ready for dinner.

How are you all? Cheers, my friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.