CV measures #87

Beautiful Upwaltham church

One of my most favourite churches is this absolute beauty nestling in the folds of the downs at Upwaltham. I had heard it had recently been repainted and I did wonder if this would somehow ruin the atmosphere of the place, but it actually really enhanced it with the subtle pale yellow colour forming a perfect back drop to the flourish of Ox eye daisies and grasses that fill the churchyard - it was just stunning!
I have added a shot of the little slatted bench just inside the gate in my extras as it was so charming with the Ox eye daisies growing through it. and also for all you insect lovers a picture of a little fly which I am pretty sure is a male Phasia obesa,  which is a parasitic fly whose larvae feed on the nymphs of various plant bugs. According to 'The Tachinid Recording scheme' , 'adults grow to 4-6mm and can mostly be encountered from June through September feeding on nectar of flowers (especially of Asteraceae species).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.