AndrewFH

By AndrewFH

Gateposts

The day again started grey, misty and damp and didn't brighten up until later this afternoon. Enjoyed a long session practicing on my saxophone. Felt I achieved some progress with including some jazz phrases into solos.
Today's blip is of two gateposts I found on a walk that used to be my daily morning walk before lockdown. They illustrate perfectly what I have discovered from research, that many posts have been moved from other places and originally had a different provenance. These two were originally very fine gateposts. They have carefully shaped curved tops and are decorated with an even pattern. The marks and damage indicate that they have been moved at sometime, most likely when the walls were constructed are the Enclosure of the common land. In the corner of the field by the post in the main picture is a small area or fold which is now filled with trees. It's original purpose is not clear but I have seen other examples in several other locations in recent days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.