LampLighter

I took a trip up to Hyde Park today as the others are doing a long ride to the northern outreaches of Essex. There’s always something to see and someone to have a chat with in Hyde and Kensington Gardens. 

I try to take a photo using a bit of creativity but in the end can’t resist someone at work. Steve’s job is to check the gas lights around the parks.In fact he told me that there are about 1800 in central London. So that lot keeps him busy. He was happy to nip yup the ladder and turn on the gas flames for me. Result!

I’m now munching on a hot dog roll by the Serpentine and marvelling at the skill of the rollerbladers. Earlier I spotted a beautiful and pristine 190 SL Mercedes by the Bank of England ( see extra). First registered in 1959 so it's over 60 years old. I should think it’s worth Rishi Sunak's national debt. The friendly owner and his chum were buying a coffee and kindly offered me one but I had to get on my way. 

I was thrilled to be awarded a special heart in this week’s Derelict Sunday challenge and also an Honourable Mention in the Mono Monday challenge from two weeks ago. It’s not often that you see a cyclist climbing on top of a beached boat whilst another photobombs in the foreground. 


Thanks so much to the hosts for organising and being kind to my photos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.