what's in a name?

Today I've been finding out the names of things. It started with grasses - I realised that there were lots of different kinds in our garden and I wanted to know what they were. My wildflower book was of limited use, but I found a really good free app which is brilliant for identifying not only grasses and flowers, but also animals. It's called "Seek". You point your phone camera at whatever you wish to identify and get loads of useful info. It would be a good learning tool for those of you who have to do home schooling just now :-)

This afternoon I returned to the same place where I walked yesterday and found over 50 species, including a lovely patch of common spotted orchids and these peacock butterfly caterpillars which were quickly stripping the nettles.

"World is crazier and more of it than we think,
Incorrigibly plural."  (Louis MacNeice)


No waterproof trousers needed today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.