Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Soon (YAY!)

 Depending on who you listen to, the chance of rain this afternoon is a whopping 20%.  It's looking much more ominous as I write this than when I took this 16:9 aspect ratio photo for wide Wednesday.  The chances begin to rise overnight to 70% for tomorrow. There's a flash flood watch posted in the area of the Bighorn fire burn scar.  It's now well over 100,000 acres and about 50% contained.  Rain will be a blessing for the firefighters (1300 of them) but there's a risk of lightening, which could spark another fire and debris and mud slides.

Since it has taken me hours to write this, I can now report that it has  begun  to rain..a little bit (5 pm). Yippee!!
Edit:  that was a quick 90 seconds!

I'm so fed up with Gov. Ducey's pathetic response to our completely out-of-control Covid-19 that I waited on hold for over an hour to share my thoughts with his office.   I think the tipping point for me was having to pay $70 for an antibody test this morning then being told I might  get the results in ten business days, which with the holiday and weekends, will be 16 July at the earliest.

AZ info and Covid-19 stats
Total cases: 84,092
Today's new cases: 4,878 (record)
95% of today's new cases were in the Phoenix metro area.

Total deaths: 1,720
Today's deaths: 88 (record)

Last week's rate of infections was 8.7%
This week's rate of infection: 10.2% (record)

For reference, the total population of Arizona is 6,800,000. The Phoenix metro area has 4,300,000 of that.  
Pima County/Tucson population is just over 1 million. 

Arizona has an area of 113,990 sq miles/295,200 sq km, which is the 6th largest US state. Phoenix metro 14,599 sq mi/37,811 sq km (<13% of the state).  Almost 25% of AZ is made up of Native American reservations.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.