New Zealand Kingfisher

Scientific name: Halcyon sancta or Todiramphus sanctus
Maori name: Kotare

A native to New Zealand, common and protected. The New Zealand Kingfisher is widespread in many habitats. On the coast they can be seen on sheltered beaches, in estuaries, mangrove swamps and mudflats. Inland, they are found on shores of smaller lakes, rivers and streams.

With their strong, stout bills, they take a varied diet of live prey that includes, lizards, insects, crabs and mice. Kingfishers swoop silently on prey and this combined with dazzling speed is most impressive when they dive for fish.

I've not seen many, although they're common, and I've only ever seen one at a time until today - I saw four! I did a double take I was so surprised.

Can any locals tell me why the books show turquoise feathers and the only ones I see are like my image - is it possibly the age of the bird?

It was cold, 15C, with heavy showers and a bitterly cold wind - not pleasant at the beach or the estaury.

PS Blip is annoyingly slow tonight, may not get to everyone - apologies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.