Break

I got a break in the weather and decided to tackle the garden as it’s been getting me down and causing me worry. With the mix of very hot weather followed by persistent very wet weather some of the grass has gone to seed and parts of the lawn were about 2ft tall.

I managed to mow the main lawn with relative ease as the grass was dry enough. It’s a very old petrol lawnmower I inherited and it’s a pain to push uphill as it’s a heavy old thing and the drive function broke on it about 10 years ago. I recall MrH telling me this would be a good thing as , “it will get you fit”. I think my response was an eye-roll.

I started on the smaller side lawn and after a few minutes something went amiss and it cut-out, despite trying I couldn’t get it started again. The side lawn now looks most peculiar - like I’ve given it a badly judged ‘lockdown cut’. MrH is soon going to be back from Ireland for the first time in about 6 months. I’m hoping he can look at the lawnmower and fix it. He thinks it’s the spark plug. Fingers crossed.

I was sad to find two baby birds on the lawn. I think that maybe they had fallen from a height and died. I’ve not come across such a sight for years.

Pleased to have seen the sun and got a bit of exercise whilst being productive. Hopefully the weather will turn as I feel like I need to tackle quite a bit more in the garden over the next couple of weeks. Everything is growing at such a rate!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.