Who am I to disagree?

By longshanks

Bittern

There'd been a Caspian Gull reported and well photographed at Amwell while I was up in Perth, so first day back and hopeful that it'd turn up to roost again today I headed off. Met Alan at the viewpoint, not a lot around and he headed to the White hide for Bittern, while I headed to Tumbling Bay, hoping for a Smew, even if it had probably departed a week ago. No Smew, but nice collection of gulls on the ice, but no Caspian among them.

Eventually on joining Alan at the White hide he'd only had fleeting Bittern glimpses, however my arrival brought him better luck and we were treated to a Bittern wandering across the thin ice. Probably the best Bittern views I've ever had. Today's photo is of it finding a particularly thin bit of ice.

Off to the viewpoint now to see if the Caspian Gull turns up. Only me and Alan initially but while I'm setting up my scope a third birder appears and almost immediately he finds a probable suspect. Disappointingly far away across the far side of the lake, but Alan confirms that's the bird he photographed a couple of days ago.

Well the nice gull flew closer and I got some decent photos, but you'll need to head over to RCB for an example. A successful day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.