Ripe Grass


Fully grown, around a meter high; with beautiful seed heads, two sorts I think; gorgeous purple-brown colour.
Found along the edge of the road on our daily walk.
Other news - baked bread today because our vistors left us some skimmed milk, which we don't like. So to save wastage we turned it into bread. Today I baked a simple recipe using 25g (half-packet) fresh yeast. It made a lovely soft bread, with a gentle taste and texture. Perhaps a bit lacking in character compared to sourdough but variety is good. (See extra.)
Having baked I noticed it was getting hard to see into our oven. I took a look at our oven door and discovered that removing one screw allowed me to dismantle the three layers of glass. The inner piece was stained with burnt material from various bakes and roasts, and even the outer and centre glass were fairly grubby. (The oven is at least 6 years-old.) After a couple of hours hard work and using oven cleaner on the burned inner glass, it all came up sparkling clean. I should have searched for that screw years agoi!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.