Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

The Whimbrel (Numenius Plaeopus)

Sounds like it should be a Womble doesn't it. They are like a curlew but a bit smaller. I have never seen one in Newcastle before but did see one at Cape Levique near Broome when I was there. They have a dark brown crown which is another distinguishing feature from the curlew. There were also some Sootys, Ruddys (Ruddy Turnstones) and a collection of Terns on the rock platform. Blipbigyear nirvana and whilst this is not the best shot, I am not sure I will see one again.

I have finished the book, now uploaded and paid for and am free to start catching up on comments and seeing what you have been up to these last few days. I also debugged the laptop so all round I am feeling pretty pleased with myself. Better still, tomorrow is Friday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.