A day in the life

By Shelling

Lines galore

I took a trip to Kalmar today to renew my passport that expired two years ago. I didn't think I needed it for the next year, due to virus travels but I heard from a friend that I might actually need it when I go to Denmark next time. I'm told that the border police might want to look at your passport when passin in and out of Denmark. This is unheard of during my lifetime so far but these days only parts of Sweden are allowed to travel into Denmark due to the infection so I assume they need to know where in Sweden people are coming from. 

I had lunch in the guest harbour area and an ice cream afterwards. There are far less boats than earlier summers, all due to Corona. We don't get boats from abroad and less Swedes come here too. There's still quite a few boats her and I was amused by the different lines and directions formed by buildings and boats, jetties, masts and tackle. 

The buildings are all new, built during the last three years forming the new university campus. Before, the campus was scattered over the whole town and it has been a long political struggle to gather it in the harbour area, a high status place. Many are still against the idea even when it's built, and even more are against the colors and the architecture. Personally, now that it's here, I think it's quite fun and lively. 

The total view looks really confusing with all lines pointing in various directions. What do you think?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.