Prt Sc

By weaponstar

Hyfryd

Some of the seaglass (and other finds!) I collected from Llandudno beach yesterday.

The figure is ceramic, with fragments of string in those two holes which I suspect may once have held dangly string legs. I'm pretty sure she's wearing traditional Welsh dress. The underneath is stamped with the word 'HYFRYD' (means 'lovely' in Welsh) and the copyright symbol.

I've been googling 'hyfryd' and various variations on ceramic/ornament/girl/figure but have not yet discovered her origins. I'd like to make replacements for her legs, so was hoping to find an image of the original design to reference, but I may just have to improvise.

While the Hyfryd figure may be the most fascinating thing I've ever found, you can see there's some other items of note here, too. I'm pretty sure we used to have breakfast bowls with that smiley face design on them (though this one isn't from a bowl, as there's no vertical curve; it was probably either a mug or a jar). And I suspect the word on the glass in the middle is from 'Llandudno'. There's another piece at the back, not visible in this pic, which says 'n street' and 'dno', which looks likely to be Mostyn Street, Llandudno. Apparently this stuff hasn't travelled very far?

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.