A visit

This afternoon I got together with Roselie for the first time in months.  We were in her apartment, sitting six feet apart, and both wearing masks, so it should be safe.  It made me remember how much I enjoy speaking with her and how we share the same sort of humor.  Of course we couldn't seem to stay away from the problems out in the world - she shares my horror at the storm troopers, and it is especially poignant for her as she still has relatives in Germany who went along, sometimes enthusiastically, with the actions of the Nazis.  No matter how often we tried to find something cheerful to think about, we came up with nothing other than the twins.  But I felt enlivened by the company and hope we'll get together again soon.

In trying to cope with how overwhelmed I'm feeling about what is going on, I have unsubscribed from about 20 Email lists so far and there will be others. In the meantime I'm just deleting as quickly as I can.

I will do my first grocery pickup tomorrow!  I called in an order and will go and get it between 11AM and noon tomorrow.  They will bring the bags out and put them in my trunk.  And there is no charge.  Since I'll have to transfer the food from paper bags into ones I can hang from my walker handles, I'll be bringing a stack of reusable bags with me.

I do so appreciate all the kind words you sent me in response to my despairing blip of yesterday.  I will try not to inflict my angst on you in future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.