What's in a NAME

The February challenge for today is YOUR NAME

So here is my name - with a few variations.

My Dad called me Dot. And at school I was called Dot. My brother calls me Dot.

My late husband called me Dolly.

On official forms etc I use Dorothy. Most people call me Dorothy.

Dorothy means " Gift of God "

Apparently I was named after my maternal Grandad's sister. I have a vague feeling that I may have met the lady in question once or twice when I was little.

Today was SUPPOSED to be Asda day. But I slept through the alarm. My friend Jan rings me at around 9.30am when she is just about to leave her house and then I know its time to go down to the main road for her to pick me up. I normally set my alarm for an hour before but today I didn't hear the alarm. I woke up at the sound of the phone ringing. No chance to let Jan know I wasn't ready as she leaves the house as soon as she has phoned. So a few mins later she was at the front door. Me in my dressing gown, tousled hair, sleepy eyed. Jan couldn't wait for me to get ready as she takes her daughter to work for 10am and then goes over to her mother in laws to walk the dog before going shopping. So I had missed my chance - no Asda today.

Got straight on to the computer and put in an online order which will be delivered tomorrow evening. £4.50 delivery charge! -- serves me right for sleeping in.

Still felt sleepy so I had a nap this afternoon. Took a while to get to sleep as Lily was in a playful mood and decided to bring her favourite toy upstairs - it has a bell on which I could her tinkling away as I was trying to nod off. She eventually settled down beside me on the bed... after a brief foray INTO the bed and some pawing and clawing of my legs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.