Captain's Logbook

By CaptainSensible

Covid Cafe 2020. Harvesting the fat off the gravy.

A bit bonkers perhaps. I've been binge watching Jamie Oliver programs. I love his "Keep Cooking and Carry On" series. I am steadily raising my game, both in terms of technique and sourcing ingredients.

Tonight's dinner was lemon stuffed chicken with the breast stuffed with smoked pancetta, garlic, basil and coriander.

I roasted the chickens on a trivet of onions, no seasoning or oil or anything. The gravy was spectacular. I just added some sherry and balsamic vinegar and the stock from the steamed vegetables and that was it. 

I harvested the fat off the gravy and put it in a jar in the fridge. That fat has more flavour than any stock cube. It lasts for weeks.

The family seem to appreciate it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.