Cutty Sark

I had to make a quick trip to London for a meeting, so we managed to find not only an opportunity for dinner with my son, but also time for a quick trip to the National Maritime Museum to see an exhibition which we had clocked when we visited Greenwich in the autumn. At that time we visited both the Cutty Sark and also the Royal Observatory, but omitted the National Maritime Museum. Now we went back and completed the set.

I liked this view of the Cutty Sark, partly because of the striking sky behind the rigging but also because - it being a bitterly cold Wednesday morning in February - we got a people-free vista of the magnificent ship which we certainly didn't get on a Saturday (also bitterly cold) in November.

Travelling from Bloomsbury to Greenwich to visit the exhibition meant taking the east bound Central line into the city at rush hour. My oh my, that's an unpleasant experience. I'd forgotten just how horrible it is being on the Tube with a million other people. No wonder my son chooses to take it at 6.30am to avoid the crowds! But that has its own difficulties.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.