One life to live

By otornblom

Factory island in Nokia

Today I took my wood prints to a frame maker - next week's Friday is the day to take works to jury of Pirkkala Art society's annual exhibition. It was difficult and time consuming to choose the satisfying combinations for framing. I know an affordable framer in Nokia so there I drove. I was told that the framer is closing his business soon so I need to find a new framer. I had Sami with me and we made a walk and I took some photos in Nokia before driving back to Pirkkala.

The picture is taken near Nokia's city centre. The Nokia river attracted paper industry to Nokia. The Nokia company was founded in 1871 and the same year started production of board. Production of paper started in 1880 and sulphite cellulose in 1886. In 1913 the canal was dammed and a turbine tunnel constructed separating the industrial area as an island. In the picture you can see the oldest surviving Nokia company factory buildings.

(The seeds of the current incarnation of Nokia were planted with the founding of the electronics section of the cable division in 1960 and the production of its first electronic device in 1962: a pulse analyzer designed for use in nuclear power plants. In the 1967 fusion, that section was separated into its own division, and began manufacturing telecommunications equipment. Electronics department and let it run at a loss for 15 year. Eventually, the company decided to leave consumer electronics behind in the 1990s and focused solely on the fastest growing segments in telecommunications. During the rest of the 1990s, Nokia divested itself of all of its non-telecommunications businesses.)

It's been cloudy and dull for quite some time... it's challenging to get interesting outdoors pictures.

I had my pilates lesson in the evening - is it really already a week since the previous lesson - time flies!

-5 C, cloudy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.