Dwarf Serissa.......

I was working on 8 of my  little Dwarf Serissa's today.  They are generally,  18 to20 months old.  I potted them up early a year ago.  They have been trimmed. but generally, allowed to grow and fatten up, rather nicely, I have to admit.
       A dwarf Serissa is a small version of a Serissa, that can grow as tall as 2 ft. tall.  The tree is deciduous, they really like the winter dormancy, cold, and come out fresh and ready to grow again, in the spring
      The 4 trees pictured today show the tiny leaves, because this is a dwarf version.  I have thinned out the branches, opened up the inside for sun access, trimmed all of the basal suckers off.   This tree is called Basal Dominant.  That means that the tree grows suckers off the roots and drains a lot of the trees strength off of it.  It is a form of reproduction of the tree.
      These trees are still pre bonsai, meaning I haven't chosen a front, back, primary branches or Apex.   I trim the rapid growth to taper, so that there is a lot of potential choices for the tree.    There are 4 more that I didn't photograph.
      These trees can also be rather touchy.  They don't like wet feet and they don't respond well to being over worked.   But with patience, and observation, they can grow into a really beautiful and dainty tree.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.