FLOWER FRIDAY

Mr. HCB was quite excited a couple of days ago when he realised that one of the carnations he had grown from seed and which he had planted just outside the conservatory window, was flowering.  It was a beautiful deep red and had a wonderful perfume.  I decided that although the agapanthus was also flowering and would look good for Flower Friday, the carnation would be my Blip for today.

However, when we looked at it last night, I realised that if I tried to take a shot when the sun was on it, then it would just be too bright, so decided that perhaps an evening shot would be better.  

Fast forward to 6.00 a.m. this morning, when I had to make an early call to the bathroom - and amazingly, Mr. HCB was still asleep - when I decided to pop out into the garden, in my nightdress - and what a good job we aren’t overlooked!  I was rewarded with the fact that there was no sun, as yet, on the carnation, so here it is, in all its glory.

A few minutes later, Mr. HCB appeared, fully dressed - ready to do his watering in the greenhouse.  He was able to find the seed packet and for those who are interested, this is a Sarah Raven Carnation - one of the “Giant Chabaud Mixed” variety, and according to the packet, we can also expect white, pink and salmon coloured ones.  

I did tell Mr. HCB last night that his Dad would be so proud of him for growing these from seed - and I knew from the look on his face that he thought so too.  As I have said before, Mr. HCB’s Dad, Harry, was very fond of his garden and liked nothing more, particularly after he had had a heart attack, than to potter in the garden, work in his shed and propagate carnations in his greenhouse. In fact, not long before he died suddenly in 1977, he had managed to propagate a beautiful yellow carnation and as he and Joan, Mr. HCB’s mother, were going to be away on holiday, we were tasked with looking after the house and garden and Mr. HCB’s job was to nurture the yellow carnation, which was yet to flower.

Sadly Harry died whilst on holiday and never saw the yellow carnation, but Joan put it in the coffin with him - such a beautiful thing to do and it still brings a tear to my eye today when I think of it.  So now you can see why Mr. HCB’s Dad would be so proud of him!  

“Flowers don’t worry 
     about how they’re going to bloom. 
They just open up and turn toward the light 
     and that makes them beautiful.” 
Jim Carrey

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.