A day in the life

A few photos from the day, which started shortly after 5am. The Boss said why are you getting up so early. Because it’ll be 32c at 11.00, I said, luxuriating in a sky with no sun and a temperature with no heat.

The sun rises at about 6.30. Stunning first light.

I did my watering and checking on things in the garden, picked beans, made breakfast and podded bone dry cannellini beans.

We went to Poppi, up by the castle, for a coffee. Bought one of Maestro Ceccherini’s flavoured chickens, onion breadsticks, taralli, whole meal bread and milk.

Gianluca called round which was so lovely after his gruelling heart op. He looked very well.

Tired I slept with the fan on and later put my weather station into action. Peaked at 36.2c at 18.30

Big mushroom clouds developed but the storm missed us.

I watered and the Boss made tea. We watched a bit of Ashes to Ashes with Bolly Knickers.

In a trip to the kitchen my foot brushed something. Looking down I thought it was a hedgehog. But no. A giant and very self possessed toad.

It’s ten to midnight and 22.4 outside and 26.5 in the bedroom. Both fans are busy.

Night night

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.