Mum and Helen

So, a couple of 'oldies', as they often describe themselves, but I'm not so sure! Although they have 170 years plus between them, they are very young at heart and on top of many aspects of their game; Mum, I know, following the political scene intently, and Helen still swinging beautifully on the golf course!

My parents met Helen and her late husband Jack when their son, Ian, and I became classmates in Primary 1A of Paisley Grammar School in 1965. Ian and I became good friends over the years with sleep overs twice a year; the December one being at their house when Jack would take us up to the Kelvin Hall Carnival, the other during the summer when Ian came to our home on the south side and we raced our bikes over muddy tracks and fields.

My late father and Jack developed a fine friendship, never more evident than when Jack played the piano and Dad sang a song or two in his fine, pitch-perfect baritone voice. And Helen, throughout the years, such a refined, engaging, and supportive presence with a perceptive and light hearted touch, and an ever present in our lives, including at my and my siblings weddings. As with Jack, she was an important role model for me as I grew up. And, needless to say, Mum and Helen continue the sleep over tradition between Paisley and Largs!

We popped in for coffee this aftenoon just as Helen had put the family house up for sale, and Ian came round to say 'hello' and welcome their first viewers!

Happy, happy memories all round, and still many more for these ladies to create!

Thank you, Helen, for the warm welcome and I'm glad my height came to the rescue in re-hanging that lampshade!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.