Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Fur baby

I woke up very tired today - last night Thomas did not realise that the alarm was on and he went downstairs and set it off, and then came and woke me up as he had a problem trying to reset it. I think I had been having a nightmare as when he woke me up I screamed and in doing so gave him such a fright! (I had been watching Anthony on TV before going to bed about the brutal racist murder of Anthony Walker which really upset me....)

So today has been a slow day...a good walk with Xena in the sunshine this morning, and then after lunch I went to the supermarket to get a few things. 

A mobile tyre repair van came to repair two punctures on Gavin's car. His tyres have to be kept at such a high pressure that if he parks too close to the kerb it's a problem, as he did yesterday and both tyres closest to the kerb consequently burst. As many new cars no longer have spare tyres these days you cannot fix a puncture yourself so it necessitated a visit from the tyre repair man.

It is still warm and sunny but I do think that when we get back from Switzerland towards the end of August it will certainly feel as if the best of the summer is over, which is all rather depressing. I have so enjoyed my garden this summer, it has looked stunning but now it is already starting to turn a bit, the lavender is drying out as are the huge heads of the Annabelle hydrangeas. It is not a pretty garden for the rest of the year so it's a long wait until it looks good again. Going into autumn is still lovely but with the threat of the Coronavirus still being around we are dreading the winter.

The Mono Monday theme today is fur and so it was an easy choice for me today. Xena does not have a thick furry coat - having a smooth coat is so easy, she never needs grooming, and does not shed much hair. Even the hair between her 'toes' is short and does not pick up much dirt or mud.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.