spill and leakage

Fortunately, rapidly increasing snot-emission throughout the day meant that slipping gracefully sideways off my bike at Crewe Toll where some contraction-vehicles had thoughtfully strewn soggy mud across a bend on the bike path was a long way from being the least physically unpleasant thing to happen today. Despite occasionally hearing people say things about trying to remember to bring the elbows in when they fall off so that they don't get broken I always (where 'always' just means the mere twice I've fallen off on slippery mud) seem to go for the side-breakfall forearm-brunt thing taught when I did judo as a youngling, resulting in a slightly scraped elbow and corresponding hole in my top rather than the broken collarbone I'd be worried about getting if I retracted my elbows and held off hitting the ground until my shoulder reached it. It's not as if my reactions are fast enough for me to claim that I'm doing anything deliberately or reflexively rather than just hitting the ground in whatever position I happen to reach it in the fractions of seconds following the front wheel's decision to scootle off to the side. All the impact points had nicely scabbed-up by the time I got to work whereas my nose continues to leak, though at least at home I can sit with some toilet roll stuffed into my nostrils which would probably not be socially acceptable in the office, despite the greater protection offered to colleagues compared to regular blowings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.