Lunch break

Yep, it's that castle again. This time the tide is out, exposing the rather neon green sea algae. The water you can see is retained by a wall, to create a pool. As kids we used to walk all the way around the edge of it.

It's been a very hot day and I was finding it hard to focus on work, so I took a lunch break. The fact that I can walk barefoot on the sand and paddle in the warm sea just a few minutes from home is... just wonderful. It set me up for the rest of the day.

This evening daughter B and I tuned in to a Guardian online interview with Turkish writer Elif Shafak. We both found her very inspirational, both as a writer and in her insights into life in Turkey for those who don't conform to the current ideals of 'Turkishness'. Freedom of expression is something we should be so very grateful for. 

It was also nice to experience something together when B and I are currently apart. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.