At the easternmost point of European Union

Today I returned back to home from Lappland. I was travelling 14 hours, because I also decide to visit at the easternmost point of Finland and European Union on the way. The reason was also the geocache in there, which is under that totem. That sightseeing place is inside border zone, but it's allowed for visit as a tourist attraction. It's really in the middle of nowhere behind very curvy and narrow roads. If you open image on large you can see boundary marks of Finland (white-blue)  and Russia (green-red)  in the small island on the right side of me.

I must say that it was really beautiful place and on the way there were very nice looking wooden camping huts for hikers. I think I would like to visit there later on again, but not very soon as in a week I have driven about 2500 km's myself and travelling few hundreds kilometers more as a passenger.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.