Return to the North

By Viking

Desolation and demolition

A busy busy day today. My friend was due to fly out to Perth at 2.30 today and so I took her on a tour round Christchurch to see some of the devastation and regeneration caused by the earthquake.
Now I have been into Christchurch a few times since the quake and have seen the changes that have occured although of course each day is different and something else disappears or appears. But today was the first day I felt truly desolate about what has happened.
We had parked not too far away from the Arts Centre which was one of my very favourite spots in the centre. It broke my heart to see it in such a state (and I know that it isn't looking as bad as it did!) It was also the first time I had captured a glimpse of the cathedral which moved me too. But my heart was already broken by watching this demolition of another building. It didn't matter that I didn't know which building it was, whether it was old or new, just that it was another piece of the Christchurch I knew that was disappearing forever.

On a more positive note (and was so positive it selfishly nearly made my blip) I bought a pair of full length boots 'off the shelf' for the first time in my adult, footwear buying life!!!!!
When I was younger (and therefore slimmer) they really didn't make boots for anyone with even vaguely chunky calves. This has changed a little over the years and you can now find wider fitting boots - alas as this has happened my calves have got even bigger and so even wide fitting boots have never fitted. A couple of years ago I had a pair made for me via Australia but due to human error (mine) they were always too big and after a season of defiantly wearing (and slopping about in them) I gave up and gave them away.
Since May I have set myself a number of weight/fitness related goals - most of which I have either achieved or come close to achieving. One of my goals was to be slim enough to be able to go buy a pair of boots this winter. Today I was in Ezibuy and saw a pair that looked like they might be wide enough. SO braving the potential humiliation of being watched struggling to get them on I sat down, took my jandals off and put the boots on. To my absolute delight they fitted - and of course I had to buy them :-))) In fact when the woman asked me whether I wanted the black or the brown pair I very (and I mean VERY) nearly said both!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.