The Cairnwell (Hills)

I was out hillwalking today with MrsT and L for the first time in ages!

We couldn’t have asked for a better day with the weather (or perhaps too good as MrsT and I got burned even though we had sun screen)! MrsT looked like Jerry Berry from Pheonix Nights and you could fry an egg on the back of my neck. L seemed to get away unharmed.

I took them up to Glenshee as I knew the first Munro (Carn Aosda) is easily reached from the ski centre as we start around 500m above sea level. It took us 40 mins to get to the top.

L spent the first 15 mins moaning until she got into her groove.

Onto our second Munro.

Carn a’ Gheoidh is the highest of the trio sitting at 975m before finally reaching the summit of The Cairnwell.

I’ve never seen hills so busy before and I’ve been walking for years. In some ways it’s great to see so many people out. In other ways though I do miss the barrenness and isolation I’m used to.

L was getting tired towards the end but was only joking here about crawling to the top...honest!

Great day nonetheless and relaxing afterwards with a well earned Domino’s.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.