Life, Universe & Not Much

By micro43

An Array of Hedgehogs

I hope all the real hedgehogs are hibernating safely, although sadly it is years since I have seen one of these.

Apparently the collective noun for several hedgehogs is 'array', which I only found out when I looked it up today.

The oldest of the three shown here is the one in the middle, who my mother brought into the house over 50 years ago - it has always lived in the fireplace of the 'best room' in the house. On the left is Humphrey, who is at least 30 years old, and whose job is to act as a doorstop for the same room (he joined the household with that job on his CV). On the right is the newcomer, who has only been here for two or three years, and was given to me by neighbours.

The weather has not been very good today (very light, soft snow early on, which rapidly thawed, but wet and rather misty since, so not a great day for outdoor photography.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.