The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Shrivelled

I had coffee with my friend J this morning, and toured the town's charity shops. We'd met at 9.30 because I knew it would be hot later. We parted outside my friend Gail's flat, where I sat in her garden and talked nonsense for hours. She doesn't go out much because she is on inmmuno-suppressant meds, but has many visitors.

Gail has come up with a very good scheme for me and her : she pays me to borrow 500-piece jigsaws, and then returns them. She doesn't have to take them to the charity shop, and I can re-loan them, or sell them on, but at more then a pittance. Jigsaws don't sell for much on eBay unless they are sought after, or hard to get hold of, as they were during lockdown.

As I was leaving, I picked some of Gail's plums, but some were already shrivelled on the tree, as in the photo. She's had a good crop this year, and I've benefitted, as have many others.

I had no idea how hot it was until left Gail's , because I'd been sitting in the shade. The heat hit me like a wall, and
after visiting a couple more shops, I phoned Steve and asked him to collect me. Pathetic, but...

Once home, I cooked lunch (yes, really cooked) and went out to the cabin where I promptly fell asleep. The rest of the evening was spent making a plan with Dave for meeting tomorrow in Cheltenham. It may change, of course. He's not as capable of walking as he used to be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.