An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Oot and aboot...

Backblipped 10.08.20

First proper day out since March!  Felt quite giddy as we headed towards Ele & Kenny's.

Once there D & K headed off to play golf and Ele, my niece Jennifer and me got settled in the garden in the sunshine to have lunch.

We spent a very pleasant afternoon chatting and soaking up the sunshine but the fun really began when Nikki and Esme arrived.  That wee girl is a powerhouse of energy and fun. 

Water spray, scooter, doll and pram, scuttle bug, books are just some of the activities she expended her energy on.  I was exhausted watching her.  Oh and running around naked squealing with joy at the cold water spray.  She wanted to go into the centre of the water sprays but was slightly hesitant too.  Nikki encouraged her in and she stood stock still in shock for a few seconds before scrambling to get out....but the plastic base is slippery and in true cartoon style, her feet were moving but she wasn't going anywhere.  Nikki eventually gave her a hand out (see extras :-))

Couldn't resist blipping my niece and my little great niece together (colour and more smiley versions in extras)  They adore each other.  Jen is so good with Esme.  A real natural with children.  

After lunch we enjoyed coffee and my snowballs and Ele's butterfly cakes.  As you can see, the family love of cake has been passed down to Esme :-)  My nephew Andrew (Esme's dad) arrived and joined in the cake eating.

It was still warm and sunny when D & K returned from golf so we stayed in the garden.  Ele and I may have had a a gin ;-)  It turned into one of those lovely, long summer days, the memory of which sustains you over the dark winter months.

We had dinner then watched video footage of Andrew's racing day at Knockhill.   The camera was inside his car so we had a driver's eye view of the race.  OMG!  The speed!  It gave me the fear!  In another life Andrew would be an F1 driver giving Lewis Hamilton a run for his money!

Lovely drive home at the tail end of twilight, the sky was so beautiful, only marred by realising how dark it was getting yet it wasn't quite 10pm.  Hmmmm....not long till I will smell the change of season in the air.  


(I am so behind with commenting.  Sorry :(  Will try my best to catch up tomorrow) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.