Colgaize82

By Colgaize82

A Bit Drenched.

The weather has been really lovely lately. As far as the original forecast goes, it seems to have surpassed expectations, which I find is always nice.

I was heading away for a few days today & fancied a trip to the beach. Here is the beach at Ainsdale, Southport. It’s expansive, very sandy & very golden; the sand dunes are particularly impressive & it was great to be reminded of the feeling of soft, powdery sand between my toes. Looking out to sea this afternoon, we could’ve been anywhere.

What struck me though was that you can try to predict the tide’s movements but you can never be entirely accurate. We went for a swim in the sea & left our bag (with clothes & other valuable contents in it) on the shore, working on the premise that we weren’t going far into the sea; we were just having a quick dip & we could keep our eyes on it at all times.

We became embroiled in conversation as we swam & paddled around & as we began to head back to the shore, we realised said bag was merrily drifting out to sea. It was quickly salvaged; the 3 tons of excess water were wrung out of it & we laughed our way through the experience, applying the maxim of “worse things happen at sea”.

It only got slightly awkward when I realised I was going to have to walk back to the car wearing only my bikini but I held my head high & avoided eye contact with EVERYONE!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.