Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Auchinstarry

Fresh, if that's the right word, from my excursion to Kelty on Saturday, I decided to recommence another of my quests on Monday - that of walking the length of the Forth and Clyde Canal from east to west.

I had walked from Carron Lock and the Kelpies as far as Wyndford Lock (around ten miles) over two dates in February, and conditions looked good on Monday to pick up from where I left off. Out I went around 10am and about forty minutes later I arrived at my 'start-point'. (Aye, nothing beats about two miles of walking before one starts to count!)

It was a very pleasant walk along the Canal and the weather was good, dry, very little wind and not too warm. Photos were taken, including today's Blip which was taken as I approached Auchinstarry Marina. I arrived in Kirkintilloch in the mid-afternoon. Time for a coffee and a well-deserved scone before working out the logistics of how to get home, none of the bus connections being especially convenient. In the event, all worked out fine and I was home before 5pm.

Nineteen miles of the Canal walk completed, seventeen to go..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.