Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

Symphonic bliss

Today we went to hear the Oregon Symphony perform Beethoven's Ninth in addition to Benjamin Britten's Ballad of Heroes and Mahler's Symphony #5, 4th movement. The latter was a substitution in the program, played in honor of the former conductor of the Oregon Symphony, James DePriest, who died just two days ago. DePriest was a force for many years in Portland and is fondly remembered for his work with the symphony and in the community. The Mahler was very moving, as were the words spoken about DePriest by a longtime symphony musician.

It's been years since I've been to the symphony, and I wonder why I don't go more often. I love to sit there and have the music wash over me; love to watch the musicians' expressions and the conductor's movements. The Beethoven was exquisite; I hadn't heard the Portland Symphonic Choir before and they are stunning. (I wonder when they audition??)

We're fortunate in Portland to have a world-class symphony orchestra, and an excellent venue in which to hear them, the Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall - affectionately called The Schnitz. It was once the Paramount Theater; 30 years ago it was extensively remodeled into a concert hall, but maintains it's Italian Rococo style architecture and design.

I took a few photos in the lobby and in the hall after the concert, but would like to spend a more leisurely time photographing this beautiful building.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.