Short Eared Owl at Boundary Bay in BC Canada

We found them! There were not very many but they were there! This was the first one we saw, perched on a snag not too far off the path. And this was one of the first photos I took. We saw more about half a mile further on the path. There were three in the field and two on top of a building outside the park. We also so bald eagles, short eared owls, blue heron and harrier hawks. Eventually we moved on, stopping for lunch in Ladner and then going to Reifel Migratory Bird Sanctuary were we say many ducks and nine young sand hill cranes. It was a great day for birds. Now it is late so I don't have much time to comment. I promise to return and do plan to post more pictures on my blog but not tonight. Cheers to you all. Have a great week.

I'm back... On consideration, I think this is actually a short eared owl. We did see snowy owls as well. You can see them here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.