Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

"This is my Lucky Day"

Mstr 5 started school today! (it's weird: I'm starting to type this up before he starts, but since I'll be posting it later on, I'm writing in the future, kind of. xP ) He was up at 6 - no surprise there - and was into his school uniform, without prompting, within 15 minutes. Before breakfast, even. Soooooo excited. 8) - And looking grown-up but young, and big yet small, all at the same time. I've titled this with what he told us first thing this morning.

I took a few pictures before we took him off to school. This one really appeals to me, with his lovely happy proud smile (bigger here), but there are some others in my 'Kids' set on Flickr.

I took the day off work so I could accompany him to his first day along with mrs tsuken. He was all smiles, and so sweet. Poor thing was disconcerted when his buddy didn't come to collect him - and the principal was saying to everyone that "now the children's buddies will take them to their classrooms...". A helpful year 6 girl came and asked who was his buddy, and then informed us that he wasn't at school today. Poor Mstr 5 hung his head, until he was reassured that another older kid would come to look after him. Cue happy rapt expression. One of the teachers then asked another year 6 girl to take him to his class, and he was happy as Larry, hand in hand strolling off to class.

It amazes me how this once rigid, shy, screaming-at-anyone-outside-immediate-family toddler has become the most social and adaptable member of our family. xP

Anyway, Mrs tsuken and I had a nice middle of the day together, then went to pick up the kids from school. We saw Mstr 5's class trooping across the playground; he spied us and flashed about the biggest grin imaginable. Then his teacher saw us, and immediately told us - with a smile - that he did really well. He showed us a paper spider he made, and a drawing (of a car, of course). He was very pleased with himself.

When we arrived home we had a lovely video chat with my mum and dad (waipushrink and S). "FaceTime" on my iPad worked brilliantly - muuuuuch better than when I was using iChat on my iMac, shut away in a tiny room as it is. Also the connection was much better than with previous chats, so nobody (at least at this end) was at all pixellated.

Been outside and nabbed some photos of a rosella, which I'll stick in my 'birds' set on Flickr.

Ok. Dinner now: Mrs tsuken's spaghetti bolognese, which is made from awesome. And spaghetti. Bye now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.