Oh, hello!

So happy to find this little frog sunning itself in the garden, although it might be interested to know there is a cheeky sparrowhawk in the neighbourhood. Would a frog be on their menu??? I'm not sure. I'm very happy for it to stay though, it can help keep the slugs & snails at bay.
Up on the plot this morning, I weeded a few beds, harvested more whole baby corn, plus 2 'Swift' variety corn on the cob. Found more French beans in amongst the climbing French beans ... they've grown quite happily together.
Next shopping for a few bits in the town, followed by a visit to Mum, cake, coffee, & a natter.
Back home, hubby sitting indoors patio doors closed, windows closed. GRHHHH! I't a gloriously sunny day ...... I cannot sit inside when it's such a beautiful day. I came across a carrier bag of lavender harvested last year, so took that outside & sat in the sunshine, picking  the stems out. I'm thinking lavender bags, an extra sale item for the next plant sale. I've also got some laminated floral watercolour book marks, that I could also sell. Bookmarks I painted when I was in Thailand. Washed my face masks, bumped into Richard & Shirley on their way back from a walk. Had quite a natter outside the house. "Pick the raspberries, there's lots up there, I've had enough now".
So, after lunch I walked up to the plot, picked the raspberries, pulled some rhubarb, picked up a few windfall plums, possibly Czar. The tree is loaded, as are the conference pear trees, well they were espalier, but have'nt been pruned correctly. Plenty of wasps feasting on them. Got chatting to another plot neighbour. "Do you want this rhubarb?" "You can have the plant as well if you like". It's my lucky day................ so I grab my spade. I gave Judith half of the raspberries in return. She has grown some of the hollyhock plants I gave her earlier in the year, & is really pleased with them. It's good to share :-) I harvested poppy, calendula, Phacelia tanacetifolia, & Echium 'Blue bedder' seed from neighbours plots. I asked their permission backalong. Sorted & cleaned them then stored them in the shed on trays.
Back dead on cider o'clock .. perfect! Another productive day here in Chudders.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.