GiselaClaire

By GiselaClaire

Plans

From my sunroom, I can see the fishing port, where the few fishermen of Gaza who are still able to eke a living from fishing keep their boats.

The authorities recently announced that they will develop the open space you can see in this photograph to create a public park and a covered fish market where the fishermen can sell their catch.

Hopefully, the restrictions placed on fishermen will soon be lifted, though I fear such an event is far in the future. If fishermen were allowed to sail beyond the 6 nautical miles, they would be able to catch a wider variety and more plentiful supply of fish. As it stands, even sailing out that far carries with it the risk of attack and/or arrest by Israeli naval forces.

I think this is a great initiative and look forward to seeing it develop from my window.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.