LD 162. Standing on the corner

I realised this morning , walking to the Parliament, that I have been looking at this view even before the Parliament building existed.

Not only did I know this part of town when I was a student in Edinburgh 50 years ago ( well , almost...) but in the early months of 2003 I used to stand here early in the morning when the building was beginning to emerge from the ground waiting for a lift to SNPHQ as a member of that election year planning team. I had a flat at that time just along Calton Rd.

Today I am seeing it through not just 13 years working in the place but also through the prism of the extraordinary lockdown we are still going through and in the light of my own decision to leave the Parliament next year .

Lots of memories .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.