ABSTRACT THURSDAY

I know there are some who don’t like to process their shots in any way and insist that the mark of a good photographer is getting everything right in camera and then doing minimal processing afterwards.  I am NOT one of those people, as no doubt you realise!

Of course, if something looks good SOOC - or straight out of camera for the uninitiated - then that’s a bonus, but often, I like to play around or do a bit of fartnarkling as it is called in Blipland - and make something look slightly different, always keeping in mind the original shot, of course.

During lockdown I have been knitting dishcloths - sad you may think, but when I am not at the computer, but just sitting, perhaps watching another one of the repeats on television, I like to be doing something. The added bonus is that Mr. HCB loves the cotton dishcloths and says they are better than sponges for washing up - we do have a dishwasher, but that is only used about once a week and he enjoys standing and washing up so who am I to stop him?

This is a shot of a multi-coloured dishcloth, with a bit of fartnarkling afterwards with my Photoscape X app on my Macbook - and I like this - a lovely splash of colour in my day and I hope in yours too.

A bit like life really - sometimes things go well and we don’t need to change anything - but at other times, we need to find a “workaround” and change what we do or even what we say to make a difference.  I am finding at the moment that I need to become more tolerant of those I meet when I go into a shop - especially if they are walking the wrong way round the shop and not following the arrows, or when someone isn’t wearing a mask.  I have to tell myself there may be a perfectly good reason why they aren’t wearing one, without getting all worked up about it.  Does that sound familiar?  In other words, I must not judge or criticise.  I remember many years ago reading this - “If you point your finger at someone else, just remember that three fingers on your own hand are pointing back at you”!  Good to remember that.

“Stop living within the confines 
     of how others define you. 
You weren’t created to live their life, 
     you were created to live yours, 
          so live it, be unapologetically you.” 
Steve Maraboli

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.