Was It Really So Long Ago

By LincolnGreen

The Very Scenic Route

I'd queued for half an hour and that was more than enough. Someone or something had caused chaos on the dual carriageway and it was time to find an alternative route across the county.

Near the village of Wickham Bishops in Essex, this country lane can he found. The snow laid much more deeply than at home, but thankfully all routes were passed without incident, except for just one hair raising incident at a deserted cross roads. The car decided it would rather come to an ABS juddering stop amid the junction, instead of at its edge. It was a lucky escape and I made it to the office in one piece, albeit nearly an hour late.

My sister phoned late in the afternoon. I'd had a long day peering at spreadsheets without lunch. When the peering stopped, the talking about them started. The talking stopped only when it was time to start the peering again. And so it went, but my sister wanted to warn me about the dual carriageway. It was closed causing major queues near Colchester.

I consider myself fortunate then that the peering and talking went on for another few hours, that the road had opened again by the time I got to Colchester and that a delicious meal prepared by Beloved greeted my taste buds with a smacking kiss.

I hope you like it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.