Quack!

Back on the mainland today. We went for a galette and crêpe with family in the evening. In the afternoon I watched the Tour de France live on TV, while playing with my mother-in-law's camera. Since my Canon S110 died I've not had a compact camera. I will probably get a Canon PowerShot G at some point, but not sure which and not until I can open the raw images under Linux!

Today's back blip is an ornament at my mother-in-law's, photographed with her Panasonic Lumix that she doesn't use any more. It has marginally better optics than the Canon PowerShot A480 I've been using recently - mostly a longer zoom and image stabilisation, but it's not a patch on my old S110 or a modern G series...

What to buy...?

The G9 X Mk II is the same size as my old S110, has a better sensor, and optics, but shorter zoom range.

The G7 X Mk III is a little bit bigger than the S110 and has a slightly longer zoom range that the G9. Otherwise very similar.

Finally there is the G5 X Mk II which is much bigger than the S110, but has a comparable zoom range, and isn't cheap!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.