Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Harvest... and a tightening of rules

Today was a harvest day. I went out to pick brambles this morning and picked well over a kg in about 45 minutes in about 100 yards of the cycle track. Not much walking done there! When I got home I boiled them up with some of the garden windfall apples. They are now dripping through a jelly bag and I'll finish them off tomorrow or Saturday.
This afternoon I made an apple sponge with some more windfalls and we harvested the first bag of potatoes from the garden. These are some of last year's King Edwards which I only harvested in March of this year after lock down had started. I chitted a few and here we are, an extra 3kg. I think that's one of the highest totals I've achieved from a single sack. Some nice big potatoes amongst them too. (I've just checked, I didn't start harvesting till 21st April this year! See blip of that date, when there were 1.8kg https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2699392855461333591)
We were given some Victoria plums last week which were still rather sour so I stewed them up and they are now in the freezer along with a fresh batch of stewed apple.
All of that lot took me till dinner time and this evening I am going to pop down to Kathryn's to see her before she starts her weekend of long days, 9am - 9.30pm Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Sadly this is the weekend my sister arranged to come up, so she won't see her. I haven't seen her since Christmas and we've been looking forward to it. The new restrictions probably won't have much effect as we will be being very careful anyway. It may mean that we see the children without their dad in order to follow the new rules. The children aren't affected but their parents will be.
I was taken aback by the new Scottish restrictions today, somehow I hadn't expected them. I'm glad that people sound like they are taking them on board though. The new Scottish contact tracing app was also launched today and has been downloaded almost half a million times already.
I hope it is useful. Take care everyone.

Steps today 7500

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.