knit 1 girl 1

By knit1girl1

Shackleton

We headed up to Manchester to have a day finally with the three of us together.
We managed to get parked outside where we were staying, which was right in the centre of the city.
It's been at least 10 years since I've been in Manchester city centre. I used to live in Padiham (near Burnley) when I was a kid and we would go shopping in Manchester at least once a month. I always enjoyed it as there was lots of shops to go to. I then lived near Buxton for a year when I was working in Stockport. I still managed to dive into the city now and then but not as often as I wanted to.
Now, the city is nearly unrecognisable as there's been so much change and new buildings springing up everywhere. The feel of the city is great and it was lovely to be in such a vibrant feeling city.
We went to the Museum of Science and Industry. It's a blippers heaven and I got lots of shots of the Textiles gallery and the weaving equipment, engines in the power hall, and this one is from the air and space hall. It's of a Shackleton plane and I think it looks a bit lonely and wants to take to the air again. The museum always wins a million points for it's cafe as they had slabs of gluten free chocolate brownie. What more could a girl wish for.
We ended the day with a trip to the Lego store where Thom got some more Lego and even some freebies from the lovely staff.
All in all a great day and a good way to end the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.