Summer soccer comes to an end

This evening marked the end of Ottawacker Jr.'s soccer for the summer - although there are rumours there might be an autumn session starting next week. It has been very good, actually - it has allowed him to have his only periods of socializing away from us in a controlled environment. 

As with everything at the moment, we are weighing safety against risk, and usually opting for the extremely safe option. In the end, I think we still went for the safe option; the sessions were mainly very well done, and mainly kept people apart. 

All was going well until I got dragged into the coaching. I am not sure whether I have mentioned that I used to be a coach. In fact, in my less aware moments, I like to think I could have made a career out of it. But in around 2007-8 I started struggling with my osteoarthritis, and ended up letting it slide.

Anyway, being one of the first to arrive, I was voluntold to take some of the drills, so I did. I loved it. However, all of the next day, I was in agony, so I won't be doing that again.

Until I am asked, that is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.