Another Day

By pcc

Childhood Memories.

Another day of catching up with messages, and I went past this shop that had these Golliwogs in the window. Except we are not allowed to call them that now, they are Golly's.
They are really lovely and I would appreciate one now, but as a child my sister and I were given for Xmas these black faced dolls, made by a lovely Aunty.
Well we hated those dolls could not understand why they had black faces, and we used to throw them over the neighbors fence. I do not know what became of them.
We lived in the country and went to a little country school, and had never seen a coloured person, so probably had no understanding at all.
I am off to visit another friend today who I have found out has a broken arm and is in plaster, my other dear friend is still very sick, and my brother started his chemo yesterday.
I can only wish them all well, and be strong for them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.